Armenian National Committee of Australia Congratulates Premier-Elect Chris Minns and Reflects on 2023 NSW Elections

The Armenian National Committee of Australia (ANC-AU) has congratulated Premier-elect, the Hon. Chris Minns on his election as the next Premier of New South Wales and all victors who will form part of the 58th Parliament of New South Wales.

ANC-AU has also bid farewell to several retiring Parliamentarians who were chief supporters of the Armenian cause in the Parliament, including Jonathan O’Dea – outgoing Chair of the NSW Armenia-Australia Parliamentary Friendship Group, Walt Secord – outgoing Vice Chair of the NSW Armenia-Australia Parliamentary Friendship Group, Victor Dominello – Member for Ryde, Rob Stokes – Member for Pittwater and Fred Nile – Member of the Legislative Council.

The Armenian-Australian community should feel comforted that issues of concern will continue to be represented by re-elected champions of the Armenian cause, including Dr Hugh McDermott – Member for Prospect and Tim James – Member for Willoughby.

They are joined by fellow supporters of the Armenian-Australian community including, Steve Kamper – Member for Rockdale; Janelle Saffin – Member for Lismore; Anna Watson – Member for Shellharbour; Mark Coure – Member for Oatley; Tanya Davies – Member for Mulgoa; Anthony Roberts – Member for Lane Cove and James Griffin – Member for Manly.

They are bolstered by the addition of some new friends who have committed to joining the ranks of NSW parliamentarians who have committed to representing Armenian-Australian issues in the Parliament, including Rory Amon – Member for Pittwater and Matt Cross – Member for Davidson.

NSW Labor currently has 45 confirmed seats on current count, but a question mark remains whether or not they will get to 47 to govern in their own right, while the most Armenian-Australian populated electorate Ryde is still on a knife edge.

The seat was held by retiring Liberal MP Victor Dominello and was contested by Liberal candidate Jordan Lane and Labor’s Lyndal Howison. ANC-AU continues to monitor the live vote counts and is ready to work closely with the next elected member for Ryde.

ANC-AU Executive Director Michael Kolokossian said: “We enter the 58th Parliament of New South Wales with both the Armenian Genocide and the Republic of Artsakh recognised. The NSW Parliament has a strong legacy in support of Armenian-Australian issues and it is time we look ahead, recalibrate and re-strategise to advance the historic achievements we have secured in this great state.”

“We are excited and optimistic to work with the Premier-elect and the victors who won their various battles during the 2023 state elections,” added Kolokossian.

READ ONLINE…/Armenian-National-Committee-of…