Jonathan O’Dea congratulates 25 years of independence for Armenia and Artsakh in NSW Parliament


SYDNEY: The Member for Davidson, Jonathan O’Dea rose in Legislative Assembly of the Parliament of Australia’s most populous state of New South Wales, and congratulated the Republics of Armenia and Nagorno Karabakh on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of their independence.

O’Dea, who is also Chair of the NSW Armenia-Australia Parliamentary Friendship Group, said: “I congratulate the Republic of Armenia. In 2016, we mark 25 years of the modern Republic of Armenia becoming independent during the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991.”

“I particularly note that the Republic of Armenia, despite constituting only one?tenth of historical Armenia, is a vibrant place. I understand that yesterday fantastic celebrations were held in Yerevan marking the twenty-fifth anniversary of independence. Arin Markarian from the Armenian National Committee of Australia has told me that the people there enjoyed themselves.”

O’Dea, who was part of the first delegation of Australian politicians to visit Artsakh in 2013, added: “I note also that in 1991 a referendum was held in Nagorno-Karabakh resulting in their declaration of independence, with 2016 marking 25 years of their independence. I congratulate both of them on this significant milestone and wish them well.”

Armenian National Committee of Australia (ANC Australia) Executive Administrator, Arin Markarian, who is currently in Armenia for the anniversary celebrations thanked O’Dea for his kind congratulations and ensured they would be passed on to the representatives of the two Armenian governments.