Artsakh President Bestows Medals and Honors to Community and Political Officials


(ASBAREZ) GLENDALE—As part of his visit to Los Angeles, Nagorno-Karabakh Republic Bako Sahakian, during a ceremony at the House of Armenia, bestowed medals and honors on several prominent political officials and community leaders.

Sahakian awarded the Mkhitar Gosh medal to Armenia’s Consul General to Los Angeles Sergei Sarkison and Chairman of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation Western US Central Committee Dr. Viken Hovsepian.

Sahakian also presented Artsakh’s “Gratitude” award to California State Senate Pro Tem Kevin de Leon; members of the California State Assembly, Katcho Achajian, Sheryl Brown, Mike Gatto; Adrin Nazarian and Scott Wilk; former Speaker of the California State Assembly, John Perez; Los Angeles City Councilman Paul Krekorian; Armenia’s Ambassador to Mexico Grigor Hovhannisyan; Nora Hovsepian, chair of the Armenian National Committee of America-Western Region; ANCA-WR Executive Director Elen Asatryan; ANCA-WR Governmental Affairs Director, Tereza Yerimyan; ANCA-WR Legislative Affairs Director Haig Baghdassarian; Deputy District Director for Sen. de Leon Baydsar Thomassian; Armenian Council of America chairman Sevak Khachadourian; and Armenian Assembly of America’s Talin Yacoubian.

President Sahakian thanked the medal and Gratitude award recipients for their unwavering service and support of the aspirations of the people of Artsakh and their efforts to garner recognition for Artsakh’s right to self-determination.

Achadjian, Nazarian and Gatto were also awarded the Mkhitar Gosh medal on behalf of Armenia’s President Serzh Sarkisian.

Photo: The ANCA-WR family with Chairperson and staff with President Bako Sahakian after receiving the Gratitude medal.