SYDNEY: The Armenian National Committee of Australia (ANC-AU) has congratulated Armenian-Australian Gladys Berejiklian on becoming the first elected female Premier of Australia’s largest state of New South Wales. While it is yet unclear whether she will win with a majority or minority government, the Leader of the Opposition Michael Daley has conceded defeat, and Berejiklian has accepted victory.

A gracious Berejiklian thanked many in her speech, reserving special praise for the people of New South Wales: “No matter your background or where you live, you can be the Premier of New South Wales – a state where someone with a long surname and a woman can be the Premier.”

Berejiklian’s victory has ensured she also makes history as the first leader of the Liberal (LIB) and National (NAT) Coalition to lead her political party to a third consecutive term in office.

“This is a historic day for Armenian-Australians and for the global Armenian community, as Ms Berejiklian continues to be the most powerful Armenian woman in world politics; this time being elected in her own right to lead the executive branch of a government that runs a state of 7 million people – the largest state of a G20 nation,” said ANC-AU Executive Director, Haig Kayserian.

“The Armenian community of New South Wales is filled with joy, as support for Ms Berejiklian extends beyond party politics – the opportunity for an Armenian-Australian, for ‘Our Gladys’ to be elected was too big not to get completely behind,” Kayserian added.

ANC-AU has also congratulated the following close friends of the Armenian-Australian community, who were re-elected to their seats in the NSW Parliament:

  • Premier Gladys Berejiklian (LIB) has also retained her seat of Willoughby;
  • The Chair of the NSW Parliamentary Friends of Armenia, Jonathan O’Dea (LIB) has retained the seat of Davidson;
  • Finance Minister Victor Dominello (LIB) has retained the seat of Ryde;
  • Treasurer Dominic Perrottet (LIB) has won the seat of Epping after moving there from Hawkesbury;
  • Hugh McDermott (ALP) has retained the seat of Prospect;
  • Kevin Conolly (LIB) has retained the seat of Riverstone;
  • Education Minister Rob Stokes (LIB) has retained the seat of Pittwater;
  • Multicultural Affairs Minister Ray Williams (LIB) has retained the seat of Castle Hill;
  • Mark Coure (LIB) has retained the seat of Oatley;
  • James Griffin (LIB) has retained the seat of Manly;
  • Alister Henskens (LIB) has retained the seat of Ku-ring-gai;
  • Gareth Ward (LIB) has retained the seat of Kiama;
  • Anna Watson (ALP) has retained the seat of Shellharbour;
  • Felicity Wilson (LIB) has retained the seat of North Shore;
  • Guy Zangari (ALP) has retained the seat of Fairfield.
“We congratulate all our friends and victors during the NSW State Election, which includes a series of Members in the Legislative Council that will become clearer in coming days,” Kayserian said. “We also extend our condolences to all losing candidates, many of whom we met and won support from on key issues to our community, including but not limited to justice for the Armenian Genocide and the rights to self-determination of the Armenians of the Republic of Artsakh.”

Kayserian added: “We also wish to thank all our community volunteers, who helped the Armenian National Committee of Australia understand community needs and numbers during this NSW State Election campaign.”