A Journey to Armenia – Photo Exhibition Launch


Last night, the Armenian National Committee of Australia was delighted to launch a breathtaking photo exhibition in the Fountain Court of the New South Wales Parliament.

The exhibition, which is on display for the entire month of November was organised by ANC Australia (under the auspices of Bishop Haigazoun Najarian of the Armenian Apostolic Church and the Armenian Genocide Centenary Commemoration Committee of Australia), and is dedicated to the Centenary of the Armenian Genocide as well as the 50th anniversary of the establishment of the Armenian community in Sydney.

Three leading artists, Jacob Majarian, Teny Aghamalian, and Nuran Zorlu, teamed up with ANC Australia to make this event a reality.

The exhibition, was officially opened by the Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP, Deputy Leader, Minister for Transport and Minister for the Hunter. The opening was attended by over 100 Members of Parliament and distinguished guests.

ANC Australia Executive Director, Vache Kahramanian, remarked at the opening of the exhibition: “Despite the great pain the Armenian nation and the Armenian people have had to ensure over the past century, today these images, which hang beautifully in this historic building, are a proud testament to the resolve of the Republic of Armenia, the Armenian people and the Armenian-Australian community.”

He added: “Tonight, I would not only like to dedicate this exhibition to the memory of the 1.5 million victims of the Armenian Genocide but also to those who have stood on the side of truth and justice. The New South Wales Parliament has been one of the shinning beacons in humanities quest to recognise this abhorrent crime against humanity.”

The Armenian National Committee of Australia would like to express is deep appreciation to Mr. Shant Kradjian and the team at DigiDirect, for sponsoring this remarkable event.

The exhibition will run until Friday 28th November 2014 and can be accessed by the general public during Parliament’s opening hours. Visit www.parliament.nsw.gov.au for daily times.